Author Topic: liquorice been given three months to live  (Read 1819 times)

Offline caffiend

• Adult Cat
  • Slave to: Molly, Bugsy, Colin, Christine; Bridge kits - Ollie, Lucy, Snowy, Rug, Jenny
Re: liquorice been given three months to live
« Reply #14 on: October 17, 2014, 15:38:36 PM »
My dearest Jenny lived until she was at least 20, but was one of those cats that got old quickly and stayed there - she had an operation for skin cancer at the age of about 10, and really slowed down after that. Really, I had been expecting that the time could come at any time for the 2-3 years before I actually lost her. She became a little arthritic, otherwise in good health until her last year, when she did get really frail, and had to have regular warm baths as she couldn't wash so well - she ate well right up to the last day or so and never had a single 'accident', even though she was getting a bit senile. I kept reminding myself that she didn't know - cats don't have the fear for the future that we have for them.

Try to enjoy the time you have left without anxiety - as Licky isn't anxious and will be happy as long as he's feeling well and as he continues to be so much loved.

Offline Liz

• Cat Rescue
  • Royal Cat
  • Here come the boys!!!!
« Reply #13 on: October 14, 2014, 11:15:59 AM »
Enjoy every moment and take lots of pictures thats what I do and then a little Clan magic in our case and all mine given the sentence by the vet have carried on passed their given vet date and enjoyed life a little longer so don't dwell on the 3 months love them for who they are and let them carry on doing what they do