Author Topic: Fleas! It's that time of year again! Frontline not working.  (Read 6323 times)

Offline hollycat

• Honorary Cat
  • Slave to: Astrophe and Zoonie the Lazoon
Re: Fleas! It's that time of year again! Frontline not working.
« Reply #23 on: June 19, 2014, 19:10:57 PM »
Hi i'm a newbie to the forum but have had moggies for over 50 years. I have been told by many vets that frontline flea treatments are a waste of money as they do not work.
I usually use stronghold which I buy from the PDSA, but at the moment I am using Actyvyl supplied by my local veterinary surgery for £23 for 4 . Frontline is nearly as expensive.

Offline Dawn F

• Purrrrrfect Cat
« Reply #22 on: June 18, 2014, 09:47:31 AM »
the rip flea has worked, like you we have few carpets, only a couple of rugs and stair carpet but they do still have some fleas on them, between the four cats I got about 20 fleas with the comb yesterday - will look into capstar, if I can safely give it before the beginning of July when the frontline runs out I will, it can't be nice for them (cats not fleas!)

Offline sheilarose

• Royal Cat
  • Sly da sly - how do I love thee!
    • Cats Protection Chelmsford
  • Slave to: Sly, Theo, Ziggy, Basil, Fuzz & Dot and Rosie the Rescue dog
« Reply #21 on: June 18, 2014, 09:05:16 AM »
Check the new drugs out on NOAH, the active ingredient in Frontline is Fiprinol so any other product with that ingredient works in the same way, although I've found Effipro to be more sticky, which I think makes it adhere to the cat better than the oh so runny Frontline. Maybe thats why it has been 100% successful here.

As for house fleas, I insist on Indorex whih kills the adult flea, larvae (tiny white maggots, size of hunreds and thousands) and disrupts the life cycle for 12 months. The boys are just starting to scratch now, they were last treated in April, so this combination of Effipro and Indorex is perfect for us.