Author Topic: Cat Nip Mint  (Read 2039 times)

Offline Sam (Fussy_Furball)

• Marketing/Lost&Found/Moderating Staff
  • Purrrrrfect Cat
  • Foxy (RIP), Zephyr (RIP), Rosina (RIP) & Oliver
Re: Cat Nip Mint
« Reply #10 on: February 22, 2014, 20:05:10 PM »
Seeing as it's happy in it's pot infoors I'd leave it for now .... It can outside when it's a bit warmer  :hug:
In ancient times cats were worshiped as gods; they have not forgotten this.

Offline Purdy Bear

• Senior Cat
« Reply #9 on: February 22, 2014, 12:21:30 PM »
The Cat nip plant I purchased is now well on the way to being 12 inches high.  My question is when do I plant it out?

Round here the Crocuses and Snowdrops are up and our Daffodils have begun to show their heads in the garden, but I'm not sure if the last frost has passed.  Should I wait until there is no frost, then put it out in the lean too to make it hardy and then plant it in the outside pot?

NB  I am a complete novice with gardening and usually kill any house plants except Cacti,  I'm surprised the Cat nip has lasted the course. :rofl:  It's on my kitchen windowsill at the moment, and in about a 6 inch (across) pot.

• Purrrrrfect Cat
« Reply #8 on: February 03, 2014, 13:16:15 PM »
Glad to help  ;D

Offline Purdy Bear

• Senior Cat
« Reply #7 on: February 03, 2014, 10:38:19 AM »
Sam thanks for those links I will go take a look.

I found this tutorial how to grow the Cat Mint:

http://www.gardeningknowhow.com/edible/herbs/mint/catmint-plant.htm

• Purrrrrfect Cat
« Reply #6 on: January 29, 2014, 19:31:25 PM »
Not sure if you can get mini version of cat nip .... but it comes in a trailing version.  There are lots and lots of varieties of "Nepeta", it's a member of the "mint" family so most of the varieties are quiet "vigorous" (weed like) once they take hold.  Not all are stinky and cat attractors though.