Author Topic: Two rescue neutered toms  (Read 1718 times)

Offline beeley

• Adult Cat
Re: Two rescue neutered toms
« Reply #5 on: September 02, 2011, 13:25:41 PM »
Just wanted to say thanks for all the kind replies, decided to just take one cat (for now).
I had the other one so long and knew all her little ways so well, I feel like a total novice with a new cat.

Offline snarf

• Hero Cat
  • Slave to: Bridge babies Lucifer & Neko. Sparecat, Saph
« Reply #4 on: August 25, 2011, 20:24:38 PM »
Sorry to hear about your loss, 20 is a good age

i have 2 boys and a girl. the girl is top cat and has definitely been the stroppy one with fosters that have mixed and neighbours cats... but she adores the newest boy and has done from the off  so it is the individual cats temperaments thats important and  it really can be the case that they get on with some and not others. would the rescues let you take them both on a trial basis? if theyre both laid back and both have experience of other cats id be inclined to try.
id really reccommend reading up on intros and multicat households- Vicky halls is a good read as well as very good results- lots of things you can do to reduce the chance of stress or competition

Offline Dawn F

• Purrrrrfect Cat
« Reply #3 on: August 25, 2011, 17:42:25 PM »
all of my boy cats have been very laid back I have to say although it does seem to be all down to each cat - do the rescues know you are planning to get two, they might be able to give you feed back on how they are with other cats

Offline Janeyk

• Board Staff
  • Purrrrrfect Cat
« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2011, 17:21:56 PM »
Welcome to Purrs and so sorry to hear about your loss  :hug:

Regarding adopting the 2 male cats, unfortunately that's something you'll not know until you put them together.  From what you say they sound as if they will both be pretty laid back and if you do the slow introductions etc then it shouldn't be a problem but as I say you never know.