Author Topic: cat n00b  (Read 2423 times)

Offline ginge66

• Distinguished Cat
  • Nigel R.I.P, 1989-2007
Re: cat n00b
« Reply #11 on: June 10, 2008, 22:50:02 PM »
Hi Jimmy, I hope you didn't think I was criticizing you for taking a test, it only because I work in a hospital that I'm aware of how unreliable allergy tests can be. It seems you are ok around cats anyway so you should not have any problems when you have your own ;)

Offline Millys Mum

• Purrrrrfect Cat
« Reply #10 on: June 10, 2008, 22:49:16 PM »
Glad your test was negative, an adult cat may be better suited for your lifestyle as you are out so much? Kittens get lonely on their own and can then turn destrcutive  :scared: :scared:

Offline jimmy roaster

• Kitten
« Reply #9 on: June 10, 2008, 22:27:58 PM »
Hi and welcome to purrs ;D

Just wanted to ask what made you think you were allergic to cats in the first place? Is it your family history of cat allergy or do you actually have symptoms when near cats. It maybe advisable as Millys mum suggested to actually spend some time with cats before getting one as these allergy tests can throw up false negatives, even hospital ones, first hand experience is the only way to find out for sure.
That said I do hope your not allergic to cats, good luck in your search for a furball ;D

just family history. I'm fine around friends cats when i stay overnight but just wanted to confirm i was ok with a test. Would hate to get a pet then have to get rid of it.

Offline ginge66

• Distinguished Cat
  • Nigel R.I.P, 1989-2007
« Reply #8 on: June 10, 2008, 22:14:47 PM »
Hi and welcome to purrs ;D