Author Topic: Insurance again  (Read 3558 times)

Offline Judecat (Paula)

• Purrrrrfect Cat
  • Slave to: Emo, Bob and Pippa, Pirate and Merlin. Playing hard on The Bridge, Trouble, Jude, Mogwai and Pussmog
Re: Insurance again
« Reply #12 on: August 15, 2018, 17:11:55 PM »
When I was an instructor on the motorbikes we used to say to pupils, "Yes Insurance Companies are licensed bandits, but it it is a legal requirement." That is exactly what they are, licensed bandits. For anything. >:(
Oscar Wilde on his adored Mog "The Mighty Atom that purrs and furrs"

Offline Sue P (Paddysmum)

• Moderating Staff
  • Purrrrrfect Cat
  • Paddy's Mum (Ginger Imposter) [Nov 90- April '11]
  • Slave to: Moray & Malt + my beautiful lost babies - Barley, Mac, Ross, and Tinks RIP babies.
« Reply #11 on: August 15, 2018, 15:03:47 PM »

Desley - that's why we stayed with Healthy pets.  They agreed to insure but no cover for anything vaccination related.  Bought by Many initially said they would cover on the same basis but then changed their minds.  I was very relieved we'd double checked the position before switching policies. 

I think Reviews can be helpful, but you have to be pretty skilful to read between the lines.  And to be honest, a lot of Insurers, regardless of house, car or health, will do anything they possibly can to avoid having to pay out on a claim.  It makes trying to select the right insurance for your needs a bit of a minefield.

Offline jezebel

• Super Cat
  • Slave to: Vincent, RIP beautiful Drum & Bass sisters and the lovely Bruce
« Reply #10 on: August 15, 2018, 14:57:14 PM »
If you start delving, you find none of them have particularly good reputations. Animal Friends' reviews are either five stars and high praise or one-starred angry stories. Healthy Pets doesn't fare much better. I've stopped reading reviews.  :Crazy:
You can't change the world by rescuing one cat, but for that one cat you are changing its world.

Offline dawnf

• Distinguished Cat