Author Topic: Fostering?  (Read 3093 times)

Offline deniseb90

• Senior Cat
    • Anim-Mates
Re: Fostering?
« Reply #17 on: January 30, 2008, 17:18:55 PM »
Hi DawnF, if you're in SE London/NW Kent anim-mates are always lookling for cat fosterers!

I have been fostering for them for nearly 2 years.  They are great - they have supplied me with a double cat house in the garden (at quite a cost) - I've also got a spare heated outbuilding which is used for mums/kittens - but saying that generally after a week or two, if the cats are quite social I let them out - I guess I'm lucky as I have a large garden and no direct access to roads.  At the moment I have a pregnant cat who was becoming a bit stressed being on her own in a room so she's now in the house and is flourishing - just waiting now for the babies to arrive!

My first foster Polly I remember I cried when she left (I'd only had her for 2 weeks) but I have lost count of the number of fosters I've had since then and it's great to get emails with photos and updates and to see how well they've come on, all in loving homes.  The longest foster I've had is Flora - who had 9 babies and was quite unwell - she was with me for 6 months and I was devastated when she went, but again she's doing great.  Muesli and Mozart have been with me for nearly 6 months, and I fear that they will always be with me as they are not "lap" cats, almost feral, but they are still lovely and give me loads of pleasure just to watch them interact with one another and the other cats.

Good for you for thinking of fostering.  I'm sure you'll love it - it is sometimes hard, but the plusses outweigh the cons.  Hope that the rescues get back to you soon!! 

Dx

Offline Dawn F

• Purrrrrfect Cat
« Reply #16 on: January 30, 2008, 12:12:09 PM »
I have approached a breed rescue as well, (I thought that they would definately want indoor people) by phone and email and didn't hear back from them either - I'm starting to get a complex!!