Author Topic: Kitten worming  (Read 1664 times)

Offline kathleen21

• Adult Cat
  • Slave to: Calvin and Hobbes
Re: Kitten worming
« Reply #11 on: April 19, 2011, 19:56:58 PM »
Hi Liz

Am really interested in your experience of looking after outside ferals - I am new at looking after 2 semi-ferals (a cat and kitten) who turned up in my garden.  Mum is friendly - though not great at being handled; but the little kitten is v scared of us.  We are getting them an outside shelter built and are committed to looking after them ... but I spend all my time being worried sick about them ...

I think I am just being a newbie neurotic cat person ... with them being outside ferals - i feel like I've got all the worry without some of the control over their well being.  Does it wear off??  Any tips to giving them the best chance you can? :thanks:

Offline Liz

• Cat Rescue
  • Royal Cat
  • Here come the boys!!!!
« Reply #10 on: April 19, 2011, 00:33:05 AM »
We use programme Plus injections twice a year on all our cats except our 3 darling unhandlable ferals Masters Ace, Blue and Riley who get cornered and Profendered and parents wear welding guantlets and full body armour :rofl:

We use Millibex and large Drontal as some of our boys are 7 and 8 kgs at full furryness and we keep a spreadsheet as to how they were wormed as ferals can be quite untrusting if they think you are giving them if something is not normal - I have 25 ferals here at the Clan ranging from nasty to nice

I use Panacur granules in wet food for my outside ferals and it seems to work they are also trapped once a year just to check they are all well and if they are on a good day we pop them to the vets in the trap where they are knocked out and given the once over a quick Program and booster - some let us trap them others don't!!! :shocked:
Liz and the Clan Cats and Dogs

Offline Marie74

• Kitten
  • Slave to: Smudge
« Reply #9 on: April 18, 2011, 19:18:42 PM »
Thanks for the replies  :)

Offline souffle