Author Topic: Cat Flu  (Read 2841 times)

Offline JennyLynn

• Adult Cat
  • Slave to: Puddles (we miss you x) and Cookie
Re: Cat Flu
« Reply #8 on: August 18, 2010, 17:46:13 PM »
 :shy:
Just a little update.

Spoke to the shelter today, seems nine cats have a very mild strain of cat flu, have been given betamox and all felines in quarantine for a week. Vet checks tomorrow, if she is all clear then she can come home this weekend.
Thanks for all your advice and fingers crossed! i'll def. know what to look out for now thanks to you.

Jenny  :hug:
St Gertrude, keep my cat all night
From trap or poison, thorn or bite,
From speeding cars and thieving men,
And bring him safely home again.

Offline JennyLynn

• Adult Cat
« Reply #7 on: August 16, 2010, 19:10:34 PM »
Thank you  :hug: :hug:
Its very reassuring to hear that your cats had the illness as babies and have recovered well. I look at human gums for a living so checking my cats will be no problem at all! Fingers crossed she will be ok for rehoming from thursday, i'm desperate to get her home and give her lots of cuddles  ;)

Jenny x

Offline DandCmum

• Adult Cat
« Reply #6 on: August 16, 2010, 15:46:46 PM »
HI Jenny

My two boys had cat flu as kittens with runny nose and eyes and sneezes but are both fine now. We have had them living with us about 8 months now and apart from when Cartman had his vaccinations that caused a midl flare up (sneezing and runny eye for a few days) we have not had any problems. We sometimes get the odd sneeze and occasionally a bit of gunk in the eye but we just carefully clean that away. We keep an eye on their gums on advice from the vet but both seem to be fine!
Hope you enjoy your new arrival once he/she is fit and well enough to join you!

Abi x

Offline JennyLynn

• Adult Cat
« Reply #5 on: August 16, 2010, 12:52:33 PM »