Author Topic: New cat asserting itself over 2 resident cats - integration  (Read 1079 times)

Offline Dawn F

• Purrrrrfect Cat
Re: New cat asserting itself over 2 resident cats - integration
« Reply #3 on: June 28, 2013, 09:27:55 AM »
we had a similar thing when we homed Star, she had had a bad start and looked on everyone as someone who was going to beat her up and got in first!  we basically did everything you are doing and just bided out time - she still prefers her own company but can now sleep on the same sofa or bed as the others

Offline Tiggy's Mum

• Save a life draw/Commercial Assistant/Moderating Staff
  • Royal Cat
New cat asserting itself over 2 resident cats - integration
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2013, 08:47:54 AM »
:welcome: back :) Sorry to hear about the loss of Digby :hug:

I've no experience with introducing cats myself as have always adopted pairs but just bumping this up for those that have...

Offline tiga

• Senior Cat
New cat asserting itself over 2 resident cats - integration
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2013, 12:31:33 PM »
Haven't been on here for ages but need a bit of advice.

I have had Poppy and Riley for about 6 years, Riley had a brother Digby, but I sadly lost him a couple of years ago. Poppy had a traumatic start in life but has come on loads living with me and is now pretty happy. Riley is very chilled. They are indoor.

I have now taken on a 10 year old girl,, Penny, who has been on the streets for 8 years, then in a pen for a year. No one wants her unfortunately.

Mine have never had to stand up for themselves and now Penny has arrived she is determined to rule the roost. Have had her 2 weeks so not long. She is only out with the others when I am at home. But she loves attention and just wants to be loved. She will hiss and bash at the other two and they just leg it, so of course she chases them.